Green Monster Smoothie

After a few months’ hiatus, I’m back with a new post! I have to admit that my second pregnancy was a lot tougher than my first. This little man took any energy I had out of me. I neglected this blog and I feel bad about that but with working full time and raising a  very active 3 year old girl, I just didn’t have anything left at the end of the day to photograph food and write about it. My son was born February 5th and now that we have exhausted our freezer meal stash and restaurant gift card stack, I have no choice but to start cooking again. Plus, being home during the day allows me to photograph what I’ve made during daylight hours!

When my daughter was a newborn, my husband and I would have smoothies for breakfast every day. We had a pretty good system down: 1 cup yogurt, 1 cup fruit juice, 1 cup frozen fruit, 1 frozen banana, some protein powder and some ground flax seed. This was enough for two servings. He would blend everything before he left for work and when I rolled out of bed, I grabbed my glass and sat down to nurse my baby. I had one arm free to drink my breakfast! Super slick and easy. This time around, he has to get our daughter up and ready for school as well as himself and it wouldn’t be fair to expect him to make me breakfast, too. We haven’t had many smoothies since our son was born. I’ve been looking at several Green Monster Smoothies on Pinterest and what I learned was there is usually juice, fruit and spinach in some quantity and that the fruit must be whitish/yellow/orange because anything dark in color (berries) will turn the smoothie brown. So for this smoothie, I used the formula we set up years ago to make my own Green Monster. It looks a bit scary and unappetizing but I assure you, it doesn’t taste at all like spinach or a salad or grass or whatever you imagine. It tasted like a fruit smoothie with the added nutrition of green leafy veggies!

Green Monster Smoothie

Serves 1

Ingredients:

1/2 cup vanilla yogurt

1/2 cup fruit juice (any kind)

1/2 frozen banana

1/2 cup fresh spinach

1/2 cup frozen fruit (such as pineapple or pears)*

Blend in blender until smooth.

*I tried to use half an orange, peeled, the first time I attempted this and it was a fail. The orange pith didn’t incorporate well and I ended up getting it stuck in my teeth and it was really unpleasant. I’d stick to the bananas, pear, pineapple combination.

This entry was posted in Breakfast, Drinks and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

