I’m Back, With a New Recipe, too!

So it looks like it’s been about two months since my last post. I was thinking it had been longer than that considering all that has happened in my life in the last two months. I have a good excuse for the absence in posts, two very good excuses in fact. First of all, in June, I found out that I was pregnant with our second child. Shortly after the happy news hit us, so did my morning, noon and night sickness. I felt fatigued all day long and had an unsettled stomach all day long. Needless to say, I didn’t do much cooking, thinking about cooking, nor did I have the energy to photograph and write about food. Just as I was starting to get my energy back and headed back into my kitchen, Mother Nature struck our household in the form of lightning. In the wee hours of August 1st, our house was struck by lightning, causing a fire in the exterior wall of our dining room. Once the fire was put out, we were relieved, thinking this nightmare was now over. Little did we know it would take over a month to get our household back to normal. We were not able to live in our home for ten days, had to send out most of our clothing and “soft goods” to be cleaned and deodorized and had repairmen in and out of house for a few weeks. We are pretty much back to normal, with the exception of some window treatments and picture frames to hang back up and I feel like I have more time and energy to focus on other things, including this blog.

So without further ado, this is the first recipe I’ve photographed in the past six weeks or so. I was having a craving for a queso dip similar to the one served at Qdoba. It’s a white queso dip, which I’ve never made before. Usually I just opt for good old orange Velveeta and salsa. This one isn’t too far off from that idea, still using Velveeta, only this time the new white Velveeta. It comes pretty close to Qdoba but maybe next time I will tinker with using some roasted/grilled chili peppers.

Queso Blanco Dip

Ingredients

1 Tbsp vegetable oil

1/4 C. white onion, diced

1 large jalapeno, seeds and stem removed, diced

12 oz white American cheese (I used Velveeta queso blanco)

4 oz Monterrey Jack cheese, shredded

¼ C. half & half

1 can Rotel

1 small bunch cilantro, roughly chopped

Heat the oil in a saute pan. Cook the onion and pepper until softened and reduce heat to medium-low.

Add the shredded cheese and 1/4 cup of the cream. Stir until mostly melted. Add the Rotel and cilantro. Stir until completely melted. Serve with tortilla chips.

Adapted from Confessions of a Foodie Bride

This entry was posted in Sauces and Condiments, Sides. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

