Cake Batter Ice Cream

So July is National Ice Cream month and I had high expectations of making tons of ice cream recipes to share but alas, that did not happen. I made two and only managed to photograph one of them. But this recipe is so dang good we made it twice in about three weeks and ate it all gone. I’m sure everyone has experienced cake batter flavored ice cream at some yummy yummy chain stores, I know I have. But I thought it was way overpowering to eat a whole serving of it, especially when there are lots of candy mix-ins. I always did wonder how they got it to taste just like raw cake batter. I happened upon this recipe while doing a search online for cake batter flavored frosting, which sounded delicious when paired with cupcakes. I was curious to see that the flavor came from boxed cake mix. Although it asks for yellow cake mix, and that’s what I used, I would think other neutral flavors like white or funfetti would also work. I still have an opened box of cake mix in the cupboard waiting for me to finish it off with another batch or two of this dessert. Unlike the chain store version, the cake batter taste is subtle and not overpowering.

Cake Batter Ice Cream

Ingredients:

1/2 cup yellow cake mix

1/2 cup sugar

Pinch of salt

3 egg yolks

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

2 cups heavy cream, divided

1 1/2 cups milk

Over medium heat, bring 1 cup of the heavy cream, sugar, salt, and cake mix
to a simmer. Separately, beat the egg yolks lightly in a medium sized bowl. Add
1/4 cup of the simmered cream mixture to the egg yolks and whisk. Add a bit
more and whisk, then add the entire egg mixture to the simmered cream. Stir
with a whisk until the mixture forms a thin custard, about 5 to 10 minutes (or
it reaches about 175 on a thermometer). Take off heat and pour through a fine
mesh sieve placed over a large bowl. Add the remaining milk, vanilla and heavy
cream. Stir, then chill in the fridge at least 8 hours or overnight. Add the
mixture to your ice cream machine and chill accordingly.

Recipe from The Kitchy Kitchen

This entry was posted in Desserts, Ice Cream. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

