Chicken Salad Sandwiches

Well, since it is a holiday weekend coming up, I thought I’d post this recipe because I plan to serve it to my guests. My parents live about an hour away in the “lakes” area of Minnesota, which is fairly close, yet, sometimes we go a month without getting together. This week marks the end of the school year, and nearly the end of soccer season, which means I will no longer be a single mother a week from now! It also means that we aren’t able to spend the weekend at my parent’s place, one of the most peaceful places on Earth, in my opinion. So we invited them here to hopefully enjoy (the view of) our clean swimming pool, a newly furnished deck, family time and of course, good food. I plan to serve this chicken salad for lunch. It is a really good chicken salad recipe-it’s not too heavy on the mayo, the ginger adds a nice je ne sais quoi, and the grapes a bit of sweetness. Oh, and there’s bacon! The first time I made it, I served it on a toasted baguette but I think it would be delicious on a croissant or plain white bread for that matter. It’s a great way to use up leftover roasted chicken, a rotisserie chicken, or even Thanksgiving turkey.

Chicken Salad

Ingredients:

2 ½ C. diced cooked chicken

4 crumbled bacon strips (or 2T. bacon bits)

1 C. sliced grapes

1/2 C. mayo (or enough to moisten mixture)

1 tsp. lemon juice

Splash of Worcestershire

¼ tsp. ground ginger

2T.  sliced almonds

Salt & pepper

Dijon Mustard

Bread

Mix ingredients. Refrigerate until ready to serve. Spread mustard on bread of your choice. Scoop chicken salad onto bread.

Recipe adapted from Allrecipes

This entry was posted in Chicken, Main Dish, Sandwiches. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

