Orange Dreamsicle Cupcakes

Ever since my last cupcake endeavor, I have had this idea for a cupcake in my head: Orange Dreamsicle! You know, the ice cream/sherbert/popsicle treats? I thought I had an original idea on my hands until a quick Google search returned a fair amount of recipes. I didn’t have a special occasion to make them for (because 24 cupcakes is a lot for a family of 3) until this week. So in honor of National Laboratory Professionals Week, I made this recipe for a potluck at work.

Orange Dreamsicle Cupcakes

Ingredients:

For cupcakes:

1 box white cake mix

1 tsp. orange extract

1 orange

For orange buttercream:

1 cup unsalted butter, room temperature

6-8 cups sifted powdered sugar

1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

1/2 teaspoon orange extract

1/4 cup orange juice (preferably fresh)

orange  gel food coloring

For marshmallow cream frosting:

2-7oz jars of marshmallow fluff

1 C. unsalted butter, cut into pieces, room temperature

Prepare white cake mix as directed on box, using eggs and oil in amounts on package. Zest one orange and add to batter mixture. Cut orange in half and squeeze it into a liquid measuring cup. Add water to orange juice to equal one cup. (My orange yielded 1/4 C. of juice, I added 3/4 C. of water) Add orange extract and mix batter according to package. Divide batter among muffin tins and bake as directed. Allow to cool completely. Yields about 24 cupcakes.

To make orange buttercream:

In a stand mixer fitted with the flat beater, beat the butter at medium-high speed until creamy. Add half of the powdered sugar, both extracts and the orange juice. Stir to combine. Gradually add the remaining sugar until the frosting reaches your desired consistency (I used closer to 6 C.). Add orange food coloring to frosting until it reaches the desired color.

To make marshmallow cream frosting:

In a large bowl, mix the marshmallow fluff and butter until smooth using an electric mixer. Cover with plastic wrap and chill until firm about 15-30 minutes. 

To swirl frosting:

Prepare a large piping bag with your favorite large tip (I just used the coupler without a tip). Place in a tall glass and fold bag over the glass. Using a long teaspoon (I grabbed two parfait spoons from Dairy Queen) fill the piping bag with the frosting, trying to keep the colors on separate sides of the bag. Pipe onto cupcakes in a swirl pattern.

Chill if not serving immediately as the marshmallow frosting will become soft and “goopy.”

Recipe adapted from Dulcedo and I Heart Cuppycakes. Maybe next time I’ll do the fully homemade version but hey, I made these on a work night with a toddler as a helper!

This entry was posted in Cupcakes, Desserts. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Orange Dreamsicle Cupcakes

  1. source says:

    Is it alright to insert part of this in my personal site if I publish a reference point to this web site?

Leave a Reply

